Helping deciding if i should make the truck purchase

• Alright so I have been debating on making a vehicle purchase, but truthfully I do not usually like debt but need help deciding on purchasing a truck. A little background on my personal situation at the moment. Me and wife both work in healthcare, I am a paramedic and she is an RN, we both work in very secure areas so not really a concern of getting laid off or hours cut. We make about 110k before taxes as far as bills we have our house $425 her car $230, and of course the normal stuff like insurance, etc. Total monthly bills come out to about $1100. We have $7k in savings and $2400 in checking currently. I have a 2000 Ford F150 with 271k miles. It is paid for I do want to keep driving it, BUT i will be going to school this fall for critical care class. I got this truck used for a great price about a year back, the neck vehicle I get I will drive it for a long time. My question is should I get another vehicle, one I have looked like an example is 2013 f150 at $22k with 100k miles one owner. I am wanting to stay in that price range or a more radical option of buying a new 2019 F150 and utilize my company discount along with the rebates, and 0% apr for 84 months so about $37K. I really appreciate it guy/gals in advance, really been torn with this decision we live a very minimal lifestyle, I do want a more reliable new truck, BUT do not want my “wanter” to cloud my better judgment.

• Global Moderator

You didn’t say why you’re considering a new(er) truck or how far away your classes are. You hinted at reliability (which could be based on a concern about what could happen vs. actual mechanical issue)… yet also called it a “want” and a “debate,” not a need or necessity. Why debate taking on debt if it’s not a necessity? BTW, if you “need” to replace your truck after a year, you probably didn’t get that great a price for it (though you hint that maybe you didn’t intend to drive it for a long time when you bought it).